Unused Volumes

Overview

Organizations may incur additional costs due to the underprovisioning or overprovisioning of storage volumes. A good solution is to find storage volumes that are not used and terminate them, thereby saving costs.

Unused Volumes Report

The Unused Volumes report displays storage volumes that are listed as Available in the Storage Volumes page. The following is a sample screenshot of the Unused Volumes report.

The following is a sample screenshot of the unused volumes, which are same as the ones listed in the Storage Volumes page. The information in the following table applies to the summary displayed at the top of the page:

SummaryDescription

Recommendations

Total number of volumes that are not used.

Total Potential Savings

Total savings that can be incurred by terminating the volume.

The following table explains the significant columns in the report.

Column Heading

Description

Volume

Displays the storage volume name as a link. Click the link to view details about the storage volume.

Current Size

The size of the volume that is not in use.

Region

Geographic location of the storage volume.

Potential Savings

Savings that will be incurred as a result of terminating the volume.

Actions

Allows you to do the following:

  • Dismiss – Remove the volume from the recommendation list.
  • Terminate – Deletes or terminates the volume.

Advanced Options

You can do the following on the Unused Volumes report:

  • Download the report

  • Save filters in the report

  • Schedule a report

Saving Filters

You can choose to save a combination of options in the Filter menu for future use through the Save Filters feature so that you can quickly access and use the filter at a later time. To save a filter, do the following: 

  1. Choose the required filter options in the Filter Panel pane.

  2. The Save button appears. The Save New Filter dialog appears.

  3. Specify a name for this filter and click Save. A status message appears indicating that the filter has been saved.

  4. You can access and view the saved filters from the dropdown list.

You can mark the filter as a favorite by clicking the pin icon next to the filter name. At any point when saving the filter, you can remove the chosen filters by choosing the Reset button.

Scheduling Reports

The Scheduler icon allows you to schedule report generation periodically on a fixed date or at intervals. To create a schedule, do the following:

  1. Click the Scheduler icon. The Schedule dialog appears.

  2. Click Schedule New

  3. Do the following:

    1. Enter a name for the schedule.

    2. Choose filtering options for the schedule from the Filtered By field. The information in this field is populated when you save the filtering options in the pageYou can choose to select a filter or leave the field empty.

    3. Choose the date range.

    4. Select the recipients the report must be sent to.

    5. Specify the start date.

    6. Toggle on the Recurrence button to send the report at intervals.

    7. In the Repeats Every area, specify the number of times the report must be sent to the recipients and choose the interval – Daily or Weekly. if you choose Weekly, you can also specify the days of the week when the report is sent.

    8. Select the period to end the schedule. The options are:

      1. NeverSend report forever or until the schedule is deleted.

      2. On – Date when the report should be sent.

      3. After – Number of occurrences after which the report is not scheduled.

  4. Click SaveThe report is displayed in the Scheduled Report Name dialog as shown in the sample screenshot below.

    Optionally, you can use the Edit and Delete options in the Actions column to make changes to the schedule or delete the report respectively.

  5. Click Done to close the dialog.

The Actions Column

As mentioned in the table above, the Action button performs the following:

  • Dismiss

  • Terminate

Choose Dismiss to remove a storage volume from the report.

Hover over the Actions column against a VM to display the Terminate button. Perform the following steps to terminate a storage volume.

  1. Click Terminate. The Terminate Volume Name dialog appears.

  2. Click YesA spinning circle icon appears in the Actions column indicating that chosen action is in progress.

  • No labels
© 2017-2019 Cisco Systems, Inc. All rights reserved