Project and Phase Management

Overview

Projects enable enterprises to create a workflow to manage their devops process in Workload Manager. The devops process may involve different stages (phases) such as Development, Test, Stage, Production and so forth. Each phase can have its own participants, environments for deployment, budget, as well as resource constraints. Applications would have to go through these phases before going live.

Workload Manager already has the concept of Setup Deployment Environments with additional System Tags and various integration points like the Jenkins Integration plugin. However, the devops process has to be indirectly modeled using Access Control Lists on Deployment Environments to move an application from one environment to another.

Using the Workload Manager Projects feature, enterprises can create a workflow to represent their devops process, setup participants and environments, and enforce monetary and resource limits from one central location.

A project allows you to:

  • Create and configure various phases that map to the devops process.

  • Identify permitted users
  • Choose participant applications
  • Impose budget and resource limits

A project does not allow you to:

  • Define application profiles – You must define an Application Profile first before associating it with a project.

  • Create users – You must create users in the Suite Admin UI before adding them as participants.

Project Participants

Workload Manager project participants include:

  • Admin/Project Manager: A project manager may be a tenant admin or any user that is assigned the Project Admin role and has the ability to perform the following functions:

High-Level Project Flow

Projects follow this workflow:

  1. The tenant admin/project manager creates a project and adds participants.

  2. The project manager: 

    1. Adds the phases and associates plans with them.

    2. Adds participants for each phase to projects.

  3. Project users make phased deployments on a day-to-day basis.

  4. Phase approvers:

    1. Promote a deployment to the next phase.

    2. Approve the promotion (of the next phase).

  5. Permitted users deploy the application in the approved phase.

Create a Project

To create a project, follow this process:

  1. Access the Workload Manager UI and click Deployments > Projects (default tab).

  2. Click the New Project button to create a project. The Create Project popup displays.

    The New Project button is only visible to users who have permission to create projects. Be sure to assign the Project Admin role to the required user(s).


    The following screenshot shows the Create Project popup.

  3. Provide a Name for this project.

  4. Select the Usage Plan Type and budget for the entire project. 

    Once selected, the plan type applies to all phases of the project. The corresponding plan for the phase is used for billing purposes and tracked based on either budget or VMs, but not both.

  5. Select the Application Profiles that can be deployed with this project.

  6. Click Continue to proceed to the Share popup. The following screenshot shows this popup.

  7. Identify the users who can view this project, modify the project, or have the ability to share this project with others.

    Project are only displayed in the Project owner's dashboard. Even if other users are added to it, it will show up in the user dashboard after the project is published.


  8. Click Save to save the permissions assigned to the users for this project and proceed to the project board, as shown in the following screenshot.

  9. Click Add a Phase and provide a phase name. The following screenshot shows an example.

  10. Choose a phase type, (the deployment environment to be associated with this phase) or click New Deployment Environment to create a new one.

    The same deployment environment cannot be used by two phases.

    The following screenshot shows an example of choosing a phase type.

  11. Choose an appropriate plan for this phase based on the project budget type, as shown in the following screenshot.

  12. Add the participants of the phase.

    Any change you make in the sharing permission for each Phase is automatically saved for the underlying deployment environment's permission as well.

    The following screenshot highlights the Authorized Approver options.

  13. Review all phases for this project as required by your enterprise.

  14. Modify permissions for each phase, if required.

  15. Click Save as Draft until you configure all project details, as shown in the following screenshot.

  16. Click Publish when you have configured all the project details.

Project View

You can view each project by accessing the Workload Manager UI > Projects link. This end-to-end view allows you to see projects, the phases for each project, and the status indicators for your application deployments.

Deployments made using the Projects link can only be viewed and managed through the Projects dashboard. 

The following screenshot shows the Projects page.

Click any project in the Project name page to drill down into the project, as shown in the following screenshot.

Status Indicators

The Project name page provides color-coded indicators for each phase, as described in the following table.

Status IndicatorDescription
RedThis deployment status is Errored or Rejected (approval is rejected by the phase approver).
OrangeThis deployment phase is suspending, suspended or pending approval.
GreenThis deployment is in progress or deployed.
GreyThis deployment has been terminated.

Draft vs. Published Mode

If a project does not have associated phases and application, you cannot publish a project. Once published, you cannot move the project back to the Draft mode.

When you save a project, the phase attributes (Bundle, Plan, Phase Name, and Deployment Environment) behavior differs based on the mode in which the project was saved, as described in the following table.

OperationsProject in Draft ModePublished Project
Change nameAllowedAllowed
Change deployment environment of a phaseAllowedNot Allowed
Change planAllowed
  • Plan Type = Pre-paid Budget: Not Allowed
  • No labels
© 2017-2019 Cisco Systems, Inc. All rights reserved