Terminate Protection

Overview

The Workload Manager provides a feature to prevent the termination of nodes when an application is in the process of being deployed. This feature allows you to prevent an inadvertent stoppage from the Workload Manager and thus avoid interrupting production deployments.

The Terminate Protection feature is only applicable to N-tier jobs.

If you enable terminate protection for a job (Job A1), and disable terminate protection in the deployment environment and this deployment is active, then Job A1 cannot be terminated.

If you enable both the aging policy and the prevent termination feature, the prevent termination feature takes precedence.

Termination Notes

Be aware of the automatic termination by the Workload Manager in the following cases:

  • The Workload Manager terminates VMs randomly once a scale down is executed.

  • The Workload Manager does not terminate jobs when the user runs out of credits.

  • Both batch actions or single actions are available to terminate VMs as listed in the Deployment Details section.

    • You can terminate a single running VM(s) using one of two methods:

      • Use the Scale Down option from the Deployment Details > Tier Header. This method allows you to terminate one VMs or even, multiple VMs at the same time.

      • Use the Terminate action from the Actions dropdown for the VM. See Deployment Details > The VMs Tab. This method allows you to terminate the specified VM.

    • You can also terminate multiple, specific VMs using batch actions as specified in the Deployment Details > VM-Based Tiers section.

Toggle Visibility

The Allow Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle switch is OFF by default in the Deployment Environment form's Policy Setting tab. This default setting makes the Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle invisible to users in the Deploy form.

To configure visibility of the Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle in the Deploy form, you can change the toggle switch as highlighted in the following screenshot.

The Allow Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle switch allows you to set the visibility of the Terminate/Suspend Protection setting:

  • OFF (Default): The Terminate/Suspend Protection setting is not visible from the Deploy form when this environment is selected at deploy time.

  • ON: The Terminate/Suspend Protection setting is visible on the Deploy form when this environment is selected at Deploy time.

When Deploying an Application (Step 3), the General Settings section of the Deploy form will correspondingly display the Terminate/Suspend Protection field ONLY if the selected Deployment Environment was configured to ON as evident in the following screenshots:

  • The following screenshot displays an environment where the default setting (OFF) was not changed and thus the Terminate/Suspend Protection field is not visible when this user deploys the environment:

  • The following screenshot displays an environment where the Allow Terminate/Suspend Protection setting was toggled ON and thus the Terminate/Suspend Protection field is visible when this user deploys the environment:

Enable Terminate Protection

If a termination policy executes on a VM on which terminate protection is enabled, then protection overrides termination.

You can also prevent termination by selecting the Enable Terminate Protection option in the Deployments page from the Actions dropdown list and confirm your intention in the Enable Terminate Protection popup. The following screenshot shows this Actions drop-down list.


When you enable the Terminate Protection feature, you will not be allowed to Stop, Suspend, or Migrate the deployment. However, you can promote the deployment, if required, to a different environment.

Allow Termination

To allow termination, select the Disable Terminate Protection option and confirm your intention to Disable Terminate Protection popup.

Terminate Existing Deployment

You can terminate an existing deployment using the Terminate existing deployment option.

You can set this option when promoting or migrating an application. See Deployment, VM, and Container States for additional context.

This feature has the following options:

  • Terminate: Terminates the deployment 

  • Hide: Just hide this job (for jobs with Errors)

  • Terminate and Hide: Terminates and hides the deployment

  • No labels
© 2017-2019 Cisco Systems, Inc. All rights reserved